Community Preservation Committee

Our Mission:

When Royalston adopted the Community Preservation Act in 2008, residents accepted a surcharge on their real estate taxes. This money, bolstered by state matching funds, goes into a fund dedicated to open space, recreation, affordable housing, and historic preservation. The committee evaluates proposals submitted for funding and makes recommendations to town meeting.

Click here to email the Community Preservation Committee.

Our Members, 2019-2020:

The membership of this committee was defined when Royalston accepted the CPA, and includes representatives of the bodies listed below. Members are appointed by the Select Board and serve one-year terms.

Committee Members

Name Title
Roland Hamel Select Board
Tom Musco Planning Board
Maureen Blasco Conservation Commission - Clerk
Matthew Valliere Historic District Commission
Vacancy A Open Space Committee
Vacancy B Board of Public Welfare
Geoffrey L. Newton Building Inspector - Vice Chair
Marsha Charest Community At-Large - Chair