Community Preservation

Community Preservation Committee

Our Mission:

When Royalston adopted the Community Preservation Act in 2008, residents accepted a surcharge on their real estate taxes. This money, bolstered by state matching funds, goes into the Community Preservation Fund and is dedicated to open space, recreation, affordable housing, and historic preservation. The Community Preservation Committee evaluates proposals submitted for funding and makes recommendations to town meeting.

For more complete information, see our Community Preservation Plan and Guidelines. The forms for the  Determination of Eligibility for Community Preservation Funding and the Application for Community Preservation Funding are also available on this site.

Our Meetings:

We meet on the second Monday of most months, at 7 p.m. at town hall.

Our Projects:

Click here to see the results of completed CPA projects in Royalston.

Our Members, 2012-13:

The membership of this committee was defined when Royalston accepted the CPA, and includes representatives of the bodies listed below. Members are appointed by the Select Board and serve one-year terms.

Select Board                                     Jack Morse
Planning Board                                Kimberly Noke MacPhee
Conservation Commission             Maureen Blasco, Clerk
Historic District Commission       Celt Cowdrey Grant
Open Space Committee                  Christine Beckert Long
Board of Public Welfare                 Roland Hamel
Building Inspector                           Geoffrey L Newton, Vice-chair
Community At-Large                      Marsha Charest, Chair

Contact Us:

13 The Common, PO Box125, Royalston, MA 01368 or